Towards Hastings stood James Burton’s original grand arched entrance gateway, called East Lodge. The Council quietly demolished it in 1895. A small memorial stone standing at the junction of Marina and Grand Parade now marks the site.
Behind the hotel is the Masonic Hall, originally the Assembly Rooms, the centre of all social activities, where balls, concerts, public meetings and banquets were held. For the latter the food was prepared in the Hotel and brought across the road through an underground tunnel.
To the rear of the Assembly Rooms is South Lodge,the entrance to the Tapshaw Valley, in and around which Burton created his unique residential park. Now called St Leonards Gardens.
It is now the home of The Burtons’ St Leonards Society.